East Bengal in AFC Cup Quarter Finals


Chidi (Photo- kingfishereastbengal.com)East Bengal maintained their winning home run – 4th in a row (Indian Record) in AFC Cup when they thrashed Yangon United (Myanmar) 5-1 in the Pre Quarter Final Round at Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan, Kolkata today. In an one sided match, completely dominated by the hosts Penn Orji struck as early as the 2nd minute to put the Red and Golds one up. Penn tapped in a brilliant pass by Chidi Edeh who had an outstanding match along with the scorer. Chidi Edeh who scored a hatrick doubled the lead in the 25th minute when he converted a pass by Andrew Barisic. Abhijit Mondal brought off a fine save just before the breather and East Bengal went into the lemon break 2-0 ahead. Mehtab Hossein scored with a brilliant shot, immediately on resumption, from a Chidi Edeh pass. Chidi Edeh completed the tally and his hat-trick when he scored two fine goals in the 72nd and 77th minute. Cezar Augusto reduced the margin for Yangon United in the 80th minute. For East Bengal, Abhijit Mondal, Uga Okpara, Arnab Mondal, Saumik Dey, Mehtab Hossein, Andrew Barisic played well apart from Penn and Chidi.

Coach’s post match comments

Ivan Venkov Kolev (Yangon United) – We missed the services of five of our defenders who were either booked out or injured. This had a bearing in the result as their substitutes were inexperienced and were playing for the first time this season. We were however beaten by a good side which had foreigners of exceptional quality.

Trevor Morgan (East Bengal) – Full credit should go to the boys for the victory. My two strikers Chidi Edeh and Andrew Barisic paired up well. We should strive to do better in the AFC Cup Quarter Final.


East Bengal – Abhijit Mondal, T.Naoba Singh, Uga Okpara, Arnab Mondal, Saumik Dey, Isfaq Ahmed, Mehtab Hossein, Penn Orji, Lalrindika Ralte (Sanju Pradhan-79′), Chidi Edeh, Andrew Barisic.

Yangon United – Naing Zayar Tun, Myo Win Htut, Khin Maung, Zarni Htet (Thet Lwin Win – 79′), Michael Cvetkovski, Kyi Lin, Yaza in Thein, Aung Moe (Nay Win – 67′), Yan Aling Kyaw, Cezar Augusto, Adama Kone.

Photo : kingfishereastbengal.com


Leave a Reply