South West Asian Football Federation Formed


The South Asian(SAFF) and West Asian(WAFF) Football Federations joined together on 10th may to form a new federation called South West Asian Football Federation. The member Nations are Bahrain, Bangladesh, India, Kuwait, Maldives, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Sri Lanka, United Arab Emirates and Yemen The South West Asian Football Federation (SWAFF).

The move is believed to be very much politically motivated by recent Saudi-Qatar conflict and one of the major reason for this move was WAFF president Ali Al Hussein’s refusal to move its head quarters to Saudi Arabia.

The SWAFF has left out West Asian nations Jordan, Palestine, Lebanon, Syria, and Qatar and South Asian Nations Nepal and Bhutan.