Can Messi do it again or will it be Ronaldo? Shortlisted players for Best Player in Europe


UEFA has announced a 32-player list for its Best Player in Europe award in the 2011-12 season.

The award started from last year where Barcelona’s Lionel Messi won  it  ahead of  Xavi Hernandes and Cristiano Ronaldo. This time the list includes many of the usual suspects like Messi, Ronaldo,van Persie, Rooney, Xabi. Messi and Ronaldo are clearly the forerunners but players like Iniesta, Aguero, David Silva will also be the dark horses. Last year Messi had won it in most convincing fashion – getting 39 votes ahead of Xavi, who got 11 nd Ronaldo who could only muster 3 votes. This year, Barcelona were unable to retain La Liga and Champions League, making the competition more open ended. Next month, the 32-player list will be trimmed to 3, from which the winner will be chosen.

Here’s the complete list of players chosen for this prestigious award:

Sergio Agüero (ARG) – Manchester City FC
Xabi Alonso (ESP) – Real Madrid CF
Mario Balotelli (ITA) – Manchester City FC
Jakub Błaszczykowski (POL) –Borussia Dortmund
Gianluigi Buffon (ITA) – Juventus
Iker Casillas (ESP) – Real Madrid CF
Petr Čech (CZE) – Chelsea FC
Fábio Coentrão (POR) – Real Madrid CF
Leslie Davies (WAL) – Bangor City FC
Didier Drogba (CIV) – Chelsea FC (now at Shanghai Shenhua FC)
Cesc Fàbregas (ESP) – FC Barcelona
Falcao (COL) – Atlético Madrid
Joe Hart (ENG) – Manchester City FC
Zlatan Ibrahimović (SWE) – AC Milan
Andrés Iniesta (ESP) – FC Barcelona
Shinji Kagawa (JPN) – Borussia Dortmund (now at Manchester United FC)
Vincent Kompany (BEL) – Manchester City FC
Frank Lampard (ENG) – Chelsea FC
Lionel Messi (ARG) – FC Barcelona
Luka Modrić (CRO) – Tottenham Hotspur FC
Mesut Özil (GER) – Real Madrid CF
Pepe (POR) – Real Madrid CF
Andrea Pirlo (ITA) – Juventus
Sergio Ramos (ESP) – Real Madrid CF
Raúl González (ESP) – FC Schalke 04 (now at Al-Sadd Sports Club)
Cristiano Ronaldo (POR) – Real Madrid CF
Wayne Rooney (ENG) – Manchester United FC
David Silva (ESP) – Manchester City FC
Fernando Torres (ESP) – Chelsea FC
Yaya Touré (CIV) – Manchester City FC
Robin van Persie (NED) – Arsenal FC
Xavi Hernández (ESP) – FC Barcelona


Leave a Reply