AFC Confirms Nepal Qualification to AFC U16 Championship 2016 India

Only South Asian team apart from India to qualify for AFC U16 Cup 2016


The Asian Football Confederation has confirmed the qualification of Nepal to the AFC U16 Championship 2016 tournament to be held in India next year. Nepal would be the only South Asian team to play in the championship.

In the recently held qualifiers, there were 11 groups from which each group winner and 4 best runner ups have qualified. India finished among the top 4 runner ups. Since India has already qualified for the finals of AFC U16 Championship, they vacated one spot which was occupied by Nepal.

The 15 teams, apart from India U16, that will be seen playing in the tournament next year are:

Uzbekistan, Oman, Iraq, Saudi Arabia, Iran, Kuwait, Malaysia, DPR Korea, South Korea, Australia, Japan—all as respective group champions

Vietnam: 1st Best Runner-Up

Thailand: 2nd Best Runner-Up

UAE: 3rd Best Runner-Up

Nepal: 4th Best Runner Up


Leave a Reply