Indian football squad for AFC Challenge Cup qualifiers


AFC Challenge Cup logoIndian football national Coach Wim Koevermans has named his final list of 23 for the AFC Challenge Cup 2014 (Qualifiers) which kicks-off in Yangon on March 2, 2013. India who have been clubbed with hosts Myanmar, Chinese Taipei and Guam in Group ‘A’ play Chinese Taipei in the first match on the opening day. The squad would be leaving Mumbai on late Monday (February 25) evening and reach Yangon the next day morning. However, the four Churchill Brothers players – Sandip Nandy, Denzil Franco, Lenny Rodrigues and Sunil Chhetri – who would be doing duty for their club in the AFC Cup would be joining the rest of squad on February 27; while the three East Bengal players– Raju Gaikwad, Mehtab Hossain and Robin Singh — would be joining the squad in Yangon on February 28.

The 23-member list is as follows:


Subrata Paul (Prayag United), Sandip Nandy (Churchill Brothers), Karanjit Singh (Salgaocar SC).


Nirmal Chhetri, Syed Rahim Nabi (both from Mohun Bagan), Denzil Franco (Churchill Brothers), Gouramangi Singh (Prayag United), Rowilson Rodrigues (Dempo SC), Shouvik Ghosh (Pailan Arrows), Raju Gaikwad (East Bengal), Gurjinder Singh (Pune FC).


Lenny Rodrigues (Churchill Brothers), Lalkamal Bhowmick, CK Vineet (both from Prayag United), Arata Izumi (Pune FC), Mehtab Hossain (East Bengal), Francisco Fernandes (Salgaocar SC), Alwyn George (Pailan Arrows), Jewel Raja Shaikh (Mohun Bagan), Clifford Miranda (Dempo SC).


Sunil Chhetri (Churchill Brothers) Robin Singh (East Bengal), Jeje Lalpekhlua (Pune FC).


Leave a Reply