India vs Yemen: Indian football team announced


National Coach Wim Koevermans named his squad of 20 for the International Friendly against Yemen scheduled to played in Guwahati on November 14, 2012 (Wednesday).

Koevermans, under whom India had won the Nehru Cup in September maintained it’s a very important match for India. “We need to assess ourselves. We need more such matches,” he

Sunil Chhetri who captained India in the Nehru Cup added: “Unless you play International Friendlies you cannot gauge where you stand. We stay grateful to AIFF for arranging two International Friendlies in two months.”

“It was a great feeling to have played in Guwahati in front of a full house in an International Friendly against Malaysia last year. The passion for the sport in the state stays unparallel and we expect another full house cheering for us against Yemen.”

The 20-member list stays as follows:

GOALKEEPERS: Subrata Pal, Subhasish Roychowdhury, Karanjeet Singh.

DEFENDERS: Nirmal Chhetri, Denzil Franco, Gouramangi Singh, Gurwinder Singh, Shouvik Gosh, Syed Rahim Nabi.

MIDFIELDERS: Lenny Rodrigues, Mehtab Hossain, Jewel Raja, Francis Fernandes, Alwyn George, Anthony Pereira, Sanju Pradhan, Clifford Miranda.

FORWARDS: Robin Singh, Sunil Chhetri, Manandeep Singh.

STANDBYES: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Gurjinder Singh, Raju Gaikwad, Pradeep Mohanraj, Romeo Fernandes, Deepak Devrani, Rowilson Rodrigues, Rocus Lamare, Lalrindika Ralte, Joaquim Abranches, Dawson Fernandes, Malswamtulunga.


Picture courtesy:

Leave a Reply