Nehru Cup 2012: Indian team announced, Jeje Lalpekhlua dropped


National Coach Wim Koevermans has named his 20-member final list for the forthcoming Nehru Cup which kicks-off at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in New Delhi from August 22. The Senior Team is presently camping at Jaypee Greens, Greater Noida.

“I’m confident in the abilities of my boys,” Koevermans stressed. “The practice sessions have been good. It’s nice to see the boys pushing each other,” he added.

The final list of 20 also includes two India U-22 boys – Alwyn George and Manandeep Singh, who did duty at the AFC U-22 Championship in Muscat. “It’s a dream come true for me,” Alwyn maintained. “The Camp sessions have been an education for me and I’m maturing fast as a player,” he added.

Manandeep who had made his Senior India debut earlier this year said” “This is a new challenge for me. As a player, one needs to flexible to adjust yourself in different situations. I’m trying my best and learning at every step.”

Defending Champions India take on Syria in the opening match of the Tournament on August 22 at 7 pm.


The 20-member list stays as follows:

GOALKEEPERS: Subrata Pal, Subhasish Roychowdhury, Karanjeet Singh.

DEFENDERS: Nirmal Chhetri, Denzil Franco, Gourmangi Singh, Gurwinder Singh, Raju Gaikwad, Syed Rahim Nabi.

MIDFIELDERS: Lenny Rodrigues, Mehtab Hossain, Jewel Raja, Francis Fernandes, Alwyn George, Anthony Pereira, Sanju Pradhan, Clifford Miranda.

FORWARDS: Robin Singh, Sunil Chhetri, Manandeep Singh.


Leave a Reply