India names squad for AFC Challenge Cup 2012


The coach of Indian football team Savio Medeira has named his final 23-member squad for the AFC Chellenge Cup 2012 football tournament in Nepal.

The final list was released after India returned from their training camp in Dubai where they played friendlies against Oman, Azerbaijan and a local team formed by Iranians. The squad list is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Karanjit Singh (Salgaocar), Subhasish Roychowdhury (Dempo SC), Arindam Bhattacharya (Churchill Brothers).

Defenders: Nirmal Chhetri, Raju Gaikwad (both Kingfisher East Bengal), Sameer Naik (Dempo SC), Gourmangi Singh (Churchill Brothers), Anwar Ali, Kinsukh Debnath, Syed Rahim Nabi (all McDowell Mohun Bagan), Gurjinder Singh (Pune FC).

Midfielders: Adil Khan (Sporting Clube de Goa), Anthony Pereira (Dempo SC), Reisangmi Vashum (Kingfisher East Bengal), Rocus Lamare, Francis Fernandes (both Salgaocar SC), Jewel Raja (McDowell Mohun Bagan), Lenny Rodrigues, Lalrindika Ralte (both Churchill Brothers).

Forwards: Sunil Chhetri (McDowell Mohun Bagan), Sushil Singh (Shillong Lajong FC ), CS Sabeeth (Pailan Arrows), Joaquim Abranches (Dempo SC).

The team will leave for Kathmandu on 3rd March 2012 and will play their first match on 9th march.

Leave a Reply